Everyday Musings

Laundry Day

I try to stay away from chemical detergents as much as possible, including when washing clothes. I have sensitive skin, and it can get pretty itchy if I use store-bought detergents, pellets or liquid soaps.

SO…I make my own laundry soap. It works really, really well and it makes my clothes smell wonderful (walking into my closet is always a sensory pleasure)…and it keeps my grouchy skin happy.

Several of my friends have asked me how I make my own laundry soap, because I brag about it so much.  It’s so simple and inexpensive to make, and a little goes a long way.

Here’s my recipe: (It’s so easy, you’ll laugh).

Take one bar of soap, one cup of borax (you can find it in the laundry section at the supermarket) and one cup of baking soda.

laundry1

Chop or grate the soap and add it to the borax and baking soda.

laundry2

Next, stick the ingredients in a food processor or blender and process until the soap turns to powder and all the ingredients are well blended.

Since I like to smell a little bit like a clean dirty hippie, I add lavender and patchouli essential oils to my blended powder, and mix it all up in a bowl (I don’t like to use oils with my kitchen Ninja…they tend to gum up the blades).

laundry3

Next I put my powder in a vintage jar and store it next to my homemade dryer sheets. You can use your laundry soap in any high efficiency machine, and it’s also great for doing hand-washing (when your prettiest lingerie needs tender loving care). Use about two tablespoons for regular washer loads, and about a teaspoon when hand washing.

And THAT, my dears, is how you make bomb laundry soap.

laundry4

Leave a Reply

